2013 sewing resolutions

It’s the time of year when a lot of us are thinking ahead, and planning what we’d like to accomplish in the coming months.  I am fairly new to sewing, and the list of things I don’t know usually feels much much longer than what I do know, so the most difficult thing about making a to-do list such as this is being realistic about what I can learn and accomplish in a 12 month period.

For 2013 I would like to:

  1. Work through the Vogue fitting shell.  I have several books on fit, but I lack the experience and knowledge to really get them to work for me.  Fit for Real People, in particular, assumes knowledge of working with a shell, so I am hoping this exercise will help me better identify my fit issues and learn how to work with them for better fitting garments.
  2. Learn to use my serger.  I found a great deal on a used Bernina 2000DE several months ago.  I took it in for a tune up, but I have to admit I am a little bit apprehensive about putting it to work.  I felt the same way about the sewing machine when I first started.  I was just sure I would plow the needle through my fingers.  The serger runs faster and stronger than my machine, plus it brings knives to the party!  It’s new and different enough that I haven’t ventured into learning how to use it so I can get over my fear of it yet.
  3. Sew at least 3 garments for myself from something other than quilting cotton.  I still love me some cotton, but I have a few other beautiful fabrics in my stash that I would like to put to work.  I’d like to finish 2013 knowing I can confidently sew these fabrics going forward.
  4. Fabric Fast.  In 2013, I will not stock up on any can’t miss out fabric deals for unplanned projects I hope to “someday” make.  Exception: I can buy fabric for use within 7 days of purchase (muslin, linings, etc).  Exception 2: The fast does not apply during sewing expo or if I somehow wind up visiting Philadelphia or NYC during the year.
  5. I would like to make a corset for myself in 2013.  Not that I wear them with any regularity, but they sure are pretty and fun!
5 thoughts on “2013 sewing resolutions

  1. Nice resolutions! You should definitely make one of those non-quilting cotton projects a knit that you can sew up with your serger! Two birds, one stone.

    I made some resolutions as well, but they’re not quite as concrete. Instead of a fabric fast, I’m making myself sew more yardage than I buy. Would be better if I just committed to a fast, but I know myself better than that.

    Good luck and happy new year!

Leave a Comment

