fit fit fit

It’s been about 3 weeks since I installed the zipper on my M6599 wearable muslin, and tried it on for a fit check.
The front looked awesome.  The seams looked great and pucker free, and the fabric just skimmed over me- not too tight, not too loose, but just right.
The back fucking sucked (excuse my language).  Too tight around the waist and mid-back-  my back seriously looked like a sausage.  And as if that weren’t bad enough, the worst back gap I have made for myself to date.

It was at that point that I stuck the dress on my dress form, and pouted and thought about how to fix it.  I’m thinking my back gap might mean the back of the dress isn’t wide enough, which is a little counter intuitive, but if there were more room back there, maybe the fabric would just settle into place.  I do not look forward to all that picking of the zipper, bodice, and lining.  All those teeny tiny stitches I had to do to avoid puckering that fabric *sigh*.  I still have not started yet.  Maybe I will bring it with me when I go out of town in a couple of weeks (for work), and pick on the plane.  Are seam rippers allowed on planes?

I’ve finally gotten to the point where I am going to focus on my fit issues.  As much as I want to participate in contests and sew-alongs and projects of my own choosing, it’s a bummer to spend time, money, energy, and enthusiasm on a project to wind up with a fit I’m not happy with.  Just like I needed drivers ed before being given the keys to the car and the freedom to go where I want, I really need fitters ed before I can move forward in my sewing.  What I’m doing now is like going on a road trip without taking the car above of 2nd gear.  Yeah, I’ll get there eventually, but it will be a long and probably frustrating process.  As much as homework kind of sucks, it’ll be worth it once I get a better understanding of what I’m doing.

Several months ago, I enrolled in the Craftsy class, Sew the Perfect Fit with Lynda Maynard.  I hadn’t started it, because who wants to sit through videos and sew with muslin when there are so many patterns and pretty fabric I could be trying out instead?  Well, at this point, I DO!
I started it a couple of weeks ago, and I’ve been taking it slow- a busy period at work and my mother’s visit made me neglect my sewing machine for over a week.  I am about halfway through the 3rd lesson, and finished thread-marking the grain lines last night.
I’ve already learned a few good things:
-truing up fabric (I didn’t know this was a “thing” at all…  kind of embarrassing!)
-add 3/8″ to your muslin seam allowances, so there’s more room for adjusting
-don’t pre-wash muslin since that builds in stretch.  Doh!  All the laundry I could have saved…

That’s about all I have for now.  Happy sewing, everyone!

5 thoughts on “fit fit fit

  1. Once again I can totally relate to this post. I have started the bombshell class – even though I have had to put it on hold I learnt so much from even the early videos. So definitely recommended. I’d be really interested to know how you get on with the Perfect fit class.

Leave a Comment

